Susan Gets Native again!

The girls and I hit our local nursery to continue the work I have been doing on our property. I absolutely love Earthscapes. They recently opened their doors to the public and it’s a great place to get locally grown, native plants (and everything else you could ever want) but it’s unlike any other nursery I am used to. You sign in, get a MAP of the place because it’s huge (20 + greenhouses) and take a wagon and go hunting for your plants. They have every plant they grow on a list, with the greenhouse number and the row that each plant is in. And they sell big, healthy established plants for WAY LESS than the typical “Home Depot” type of places. I got 6 big plants for less than $40.
Love it, love it, love it!

Note: These plants took a ride in my trunk, so they look a little lopsided)

I broke down and bought a Russian Sage, even though it’s not even native to this continent. It’s non-invasive and just too lovely to pass up. And it smells good.

This is a Salvia (can’t remember the type). I got two of them.

Little Bluestem. A sweet little guy who will hopefully take over a problem corner.

Swamp Milkweed. Thanks, Laura, for the seed offer! But I like instant gratification if I can get it. It’s going in the marsh/pond thingy I have going, but not until I am happy with the shape and depth of the marsh.

3 Responses to “Susan Gets Native again!”

  1. Not Yeti Says:

    Swamp Milkweed!!

    Just how dumb do you think we are? [Please do not answer that]

    Do you really expect us to believe that it is only a coincidence that in the last paragraph you mention both “Swamp” and “thingy?”

    You are obviouly trying to create a breeding ground for “The Swamp Thing”

    Before we realize what is happening you’ll be planting Sasquatch bulbs.

  2. Susan Gets Native Says:

    No, but the Werewolf seeds are coming along nicely.

  3. LauraHinNJ Says:

    I’ve been looking for Little Bluestem – see it recommended everywhere.

    Swamp Milkweed looks nice too – big healthy plant!

    Salvias are one of my most favorite plants – most aren’t hardy, though. Would love to know what the one is you got. Looks almost like Salvia farinacea.


Leave a Reply

